Academic Authorities

Universities and other HEIs in Greece have been undergoing systemic reform affecting the structure and governance of the University’s academic authorities. Under the current 2011/12 legal framework, the University is governed by



a) the Senate

b) the Rector’s Council

c) the Rector

d)The Vice Rectors


The University Senate is the highest collective academic authority of the University, responsible for developing the educational and research policy of the University. Its remit includes quality assurance; overseeing the management of third-party funding; developing the work on continuing and life-long learning; overseeing the recruitment and promotion procedures for faculty; the regulations governing first, second and third cycle degrees and all other educational programs of the University, as well as decisions on joint educational/study programs with other HEIs and research centres nationally and internationally. The Senate is also responsible for approving the financial accounts and ensuring that the University is functioning in compliance with state laws.


The Senate comprises the


  • the Rector
  • the Vice Rectors
  • the Deans
  • Department Chairpersons
  • student representatives ( 10% of the total number of the above categories) to be elected for an one-year term
  • one representative of each recognized category of teaching and research staff, as well as of administrative and technical staff, for a 2-year term.


The Rectors’ Council comprises the Rector and the Vice Rectors, one student representative of those participating in the Senate and a representative of the administrative staff. The Rectors’ Council is mainly responsible for drawing up and introducing to the Senate the strategic planning of the University, the financial budgets and the public investment program.


Under the current legal framework, the Rector and the Vice Rectors will be full professors from the University elected for a 4-year term by the University’s Faculty members, the teaching and research staff as well as the technical and administrative staff.   

The Rector represents the University and is responsible for the functioning of all departments. The Rector’s responsibilities include convening the Senate, setting the agenda, and presiding over its work, as well as overseeing plans concerning the University’s organization, internal regulations, the financial budgets, accounts, capital investment programmes, and the University’s annual report, and proposing these to the Senate.



Academic management within the University is highly decentralized, with executive authority exercised through the SchoolsDepartments and Divisions, which have a high degree of autonomy in defining their respective educational and research policies.


Each School is headed by a Dean, elected by the School’s faculty members, the teaching and research staff as well as the technical staff and each School is governed by a Dean’s Council comprising the Dean, the faculty members of the School’s Departments and student’s representatives (10% of the total number of the previous categories). The Deans are responsible for the day-to-day management and administration of the School, overseeing the School’s educational programs e.t.c.


Under the existing structure the Departments, each of which consists of a number of Divisions, are the basic academic units of the University responsible for the degree programs. Each Department is headed by a Chairperson who is elected biannually, and each Division is headed by a Director.  The decision-making body for each Division, Department, and School is a corresponding General Assembly, composed of the faculty and also student and staff representatives.











Last update 01/04/2019